Journey Notes: What Has Been Going On So Far Part 2

Hello everyone!

It has been months since my last update. I am so sorry about that. 😦

To start things off, I did get tested in December and thankfully, it came out negative and I went home without worrying too much. It was such a good relief to be home. I spent the holidays and my birthday surrounded by my family. There has been a couple of hurdles living with my family again but yes, I am wearing my big girl pants and being the leaf!

I don’t go out as often and I was able to work in a safe space, where I don’t have to go hunt down a connection. Work was steady and challenging, as always. (I got promoted last month too!) A lot went on and I think I am in a good safe space right now.

The sad thing is that we’re back to having our Enhanced Community Quarantine for one week. My city is officially back on lockdown in a few hours my time. My country really isn’t doing well in this fight against COVID19 and a lot of us see our government sending us to our doom before COVID19 does. There are a lot of issues – people jumping lines to get the vaccine, cases are steadily rising by the thousands… it’s like we’re back in March 2020 again.

In relation to writing, well… did I write since I got back home? I did, but not as vigorously as before. I submitted two flash fiction stories in The Five Hundred before they closed down: Yes or No and Denouement. Between the two, Denouement ranked better. I wrote that hours before the deadline. (I was already getting ready to sleep until I realized, “f*ck, it’s the deadline!”) Yes or No needed more time and editing.

As for poetry, I wrote my birthday poem because I’ve reached a milestone (haha, you can probably guess my age with that statement). I also wrote poems for a contest and a local call for submissions. The poem I submitted in the contest didn’t make it, sadly. (I will release a revised edition on Ko-Fi as I need content there too.) My birthday poem, however, will be released on my Instagram tomorrow, just to get things rolling in preparation for… you know it, NAPOWRIMO!

Will I finish NAPOWRIMO 2021? I don’t really know. NAPOWRIMO2020 happened because I didn’t have work for the entire month of April. But, nevertheless, I hope I do finish it. We shall see.

A tarot card reader I follow said this and I have written a pretty darn good essay the other night, one that made me cry a bit while writing and had the nicest paragraphs. (I am currently disassociating myself with it so I can turn it into a submit-able object.)

Looking forward to sharing new work on Instagram to everyone on the www.

Please take care and stay safe, dear friends and readers!

Best regards,

Anj

Leave a comment